Trout season is here!

Steve Galea Outdoors

IMG_8179a

Even though trout season has been open for a couple of weeks, weather, water flow conditions and work have made it a no go for me.

Today was different. My friend Ron and I went out for a day of fishing at a new location, reputed to have a good run of rainbow. We didn’t bring along waders because the waters, we were told, were not wader friendly. Turns out we should have because it would have given us far more opportunities.

Regardless, we did well enough.

Ron used a centre-pin float reel and flies and caught 6 nice rainbows and broke off one. I only caught one, swinging a micro-wooly bugger, with my fly rod. I also lost another fish that hit a full sized wooly bugger earlier in the day.  My fish, shown here, measured 22 inches. Ron’s fish went from 18 to 26 inches, I’m guessing. He used a micro-bugger…

View original post 100 more words

Leave a Reply

