Use This Fly to Catch More Fish

Colorado Outdoors Online

Photo by Jerry Neal/CPW. Photo by Jerry Neal/CPW.

Asking a fly fisherman to pick their favorite fly pattern is a lot like asking a mother to pick her favorite child (although, I’m an only child, and I’m still not convinced that I’m my mom’s favorite. But that’s a blog piece for another day).

Most fly fishers, myself included, fill their fly boxes to the brim with hundreds of different patterns. Each fly is unique and designed to imitate the various mayflies, caddisflies, midges, stoneflies, scuds and terrestrials that are common to Colorado’s waterways. And combining the “art” of casting a fly rod with the science of entomology (the study of insects) is what makes fly fishing so fun and rewarding.

Yet, if I was forced to leave my fly boxes at home and pick just one fly to use in all of Colorado’s lakes and rivers, without a doubt, I’d pick the wooly bugger.

View original post 597 more words

Leave a Reply

