Gravel Roads

depthofpoetry

9-22-15

As I walk
I hear the creek of the old pine logs
That make up the floor of this cabin
As I sit
I look out across the misty blanket of fog
and the tips of firs that peak above it
I inhale the aromatic humidity of my coffee
As I read
Each word pounds into my soul
With fatal brevity
And incomprehensible consolation
Words like bought and pardoned
Phrases like ‘no longer’ and ‘filled with the spirit’
Red and black letters
That sing in ten part harmony
About the change that has gushed into my life
I am a new person

As I reflect
My mind takes in the beauty of the montana hills
Through the lens of my redemption
Everything is sweeter
I finally enjoy it all in ease
My eyes drink up the beautiful lighting of my surroundings
Knowing that I am at peace with the…

View original post 38 more words

Leave a Reply

